CHAPTER SEVENTY-SEVEN: PANTS AND POOP TALK

QUICK ANNOUNCEMENT
For anyone willing to travel to Denver for my homecoming talk, my mom informed me that it’ll be on February 17. I think I’m also speaking in Colorado Springs but I don’t know what day yet. Stay tuned.

CHRISTMAS
This Christmas was my favorite of my whole entire life. I feel so blessed to have spent 2 as a full-time missionary. We spent most of the day caroling and regifting our Christmas goodies but by doing so I was able to actually feel the real-life Spirit of Christmas.

MIRACLE STORY
When we got to this area there was a missionary who had just gone out whose dad isn’t a member. We contacted him to see what we could do to teach his dad and learned that Brother Malabicky just couldn’t forgive God for a family tragedy and has carried that with him for a LONG TIME. When Elder Miskin of the Seventy came to this stake he met with the Malabicky family and gave all of them blessings. A few weeks ago Elder Malabicky emailed us recommending the video “The Will of God” to show to his dad. We stopped by during the week and asked Sister Malabicky if he’s ever been taught before (no) and if we could meet with the family sometime to show them the video Elder Malabicky recommended. Yesterday after church we showed them the video and after, Brother Malabicky said the video kind of cut him deep. He says he prays but feels he doesn’t get answers. His daughters (ages 14, 10, and 3) helped him see certain prayers that have gotten answers, which he agreed with. Sister Malabicky was persistent about getting him to pray, and he wouldn’t, but agreed to say it next time. He said he’d read the Bible when we invited him to read the scriptures, so we promised we’d do our homework and use scriptures from the Bible, but also testified of the Book of Mormon and he seemed satisfied with our answer. He also said he reads anything his son assigns him so we’re going to use that to our advantage haha. He made a joke about “WHEN he gets baptized” so we invited him to be baptized and he said “not yet, I’ve been baptized before so that’s a hard one.” He also said something like “Sister Ransom, you guys have done more for me in 20 minutes than Steven did in 16 years.” It felt so natural teaching him (which no other missionary can say.) Later that night after teaching the Restoration to a 11 year old soon to be deacon, we asked the kid’s dad if he’d fellowship Brother Malabicky and it turns out that Brother Marcroft and Brother Malabicky go WAY BACK and he was the family’s home teacher when the 8 year old daughter passed away. The Spirit is so real. We just got to this ward last month and had no idea who could fellowship him…but then the Spirit put a name into my mind which turned out to be someone that already has plans to go to BWW with him on the 8th. When we asked Brother Marcroft for advice on teaching him he told us that we’re past any tips he could give. It was easily one of my favorite lessons of my whole mission. We left lots of room for silence and the Spirit was SO STRONG the whole time, especially when we promised that by acting on what we teach, he’ll find himself closer to Elder Malabicky, Allison (the daughter that passed), Sister Malabicky, his daughters at home, AND God. He’s never actually taken the missionary lessons, but we’re teaching him on January 1, 2019 first thing in the morning 🙂

SHOUTOUTS
s/o to Elder Malabicky in Idaho for reccommending a video to show his nonmember dad
s/o to my fam for sending me practical presents AND easily regiftable goodies
S/O TO THE CALIFORNIA LONG BEACH MISSION FOR TRADING OUR 2014 SILVER CORROLA IN FOR A WHITE 2019 CHEVY MALIBU (we named her Bleu)
s/o to this guy Johnny we met Christmas night for giving us Mexican empanadas and letting us teach him
s/o to my companions for keeping me updated on their bowel movements
s/o to Tiani for reciting part of the Young Women’s theme in our lesson with Joannah lol
s/o to HUNTER for coming to church for the first time in FIVE YEARS. We want him to go on a mission so bad.
s/o to Olivia for ALMOST saying a prayer with us

s/o to Sister Heller for referring us to her neighbor that we started teaching

s/o to my companions and I for running 2 miles every morning this week except for the day Sister Schulz took laxative tea and thought she was dying
s/o to Sister Hoy for graduating hair school before her mission and trimming my hair this morning
s/o to my sisters for being my bffs, I’m so excited to see them next year 🙂
s/o to all the sisters wearing pants now, Sister Hoy and I brought some and will include photos next week

QUICK SCRIPTURE
My favorite this week is Mormon 9:21 which says “Behold, I say unto you that whoso believeth in Christ, doubting nothing, whatsoever (h)he shall ask the Father in the name of Christ it shall be granted him (or her); and this promise is unto all, even unto the ends of the earth.” That’s a pretty cool promise.

PHOTOS (out of order, sorry)
life hack from the sidewalk
NEW WHIP
w? Tiani after the lesson
w/ Olivia after the lesson

Leave a comment